Beware Of eBayUpdate.net

I've just recieved a clever spam, claiming to be from eBay informing me of a billing problem with my account and to re-enter all my details.

The site actually bounces to ebayupdate.net, a fake site designed to capture personal details. Don't enter anything on this site. It's very well done, and looks quite genuine, so could well fool inexperienced users.

A quick whois on ebayupdate.net reveals the following information, but I expect most of it is faked.

[whois.joker.com]
domain:       ebayupdate.net
status:       production
organization: og triple triple
owner:        Donald Stienberg
email:        hitemuppinga@aol.com
address:      64 Chrissy Court
city:         staten island
state:        new york
postal-code:  10316
country:      US
admin-c:      hitemuppinga@aol.com#0
tech-c:       hitemuppinga@aol.com#0
billing-c:    hitemuppinga@aol.com#0
nserver:      ns1.sauri.org
nserver:      ns2.sauri.org
registrar:    JORE-1
created:      2003-07-17 00:41:10 UTC JORE-1
modified:     2003-07-17 06:10:22 UTC JORE-1
expires:      2004-07-16 20:40:49 UTC
source:       joker.com

Entered: 2003-08-05 12:05:39

Rob's Other Blog Entries

See other blog entries for August 2003, or an index of all blog entries.